We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Walking with Çelebi

by Stefaan van Biesen & Enrique Tomás

/
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €7 EUR  or more

     

1.
Intro I 02:22
2.
Clock Tower 02:32
3.
Memories 03:21
4.
Cemetery 02:45
5.
Love Bridge 02:55
6.
Modernity 03:02
7.
Intro II 01:32
8.
Mauselum 02:45
9.
Living 04:05
10.
Promenade II 01:07
11.
Sufi 03:31
12.
13.
Evliya 01:21
14.
15.
3 Winds 00:57
16.
17.
18.
Conquering 02:50

about

A sound walk for mobile devices by Geert Vermeire (musical scenario), Enrique Tomás and Stefaan van Biesen (sound artists).

A contemporary sound walk inspired by the world traveler, Evliya Çelebi, an Ottoman Turkish gentleman adventurer who travelled far and wide for over 40 years, visiting over 250 cities. He described everything he saw on his journeys, and left a record of his wanderings in 10 large volumes, the Seyahatname, or Book of Travels, “the longest and fullest travel account in Islamic literature, perhaps in world literature.” His book is full of fantasy, imaginary landscapes and invented itineraries in a world where travelling was still magical and mysterious. On the other hand Çelebi is a great geographer in the tradition of Strabo and Ptolemy. Historians have cross-referenced his descriptions of Balkan mosques, public baths and Sufi lodges with the actual sites that still stand today, and found Evliya Çelebi to be highly accurate.

The sound walk refers to the magical and to the documentary side of Evliya Çelibi’s travels, situated within the Balkan of today. An atmosphere of past wonder blends with the sounds of contemporary Balkan. Poetic soundscapes, composed for this sound walk, and field recordings of street music, city life and nature, made on... more
credits
released January 3, 2012

Sound and Music by Enrique Tomás and Stefaan van Biesen (sound artists).

credits

released January 3, 2012

license

all rights reserved

tags

about

Stefaan van Biesen Antwerp, Belgium

For some years now, visual artist Stefaan van Biesen has been working on collaborating sound projects. It covers a broad field of styles and influences, ranging from experimental music to soundscapes, from wave to ambiant.
Together with Peter Maes (China Blue, The Colour U) he is a member of the indie rockband A Blue Supreme.
... more

contact / help

Contact Stefaan van Biesen

Streaming and
Download help

Report this album or account

If you like Walking with Çelebi, you may also like: